UK2000 Scenery Forum
October 23, 2014, 02:17:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: MIP Setting for FSX, I found it!  (Read 26588 times)
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7189


« on: November 18, 2006, 07:07:27 PM »

After installing the VFR Generation X, I did a hunt to work out how to get back sharp images, so I looked at the FS9 Config File and copied the MIPBias Setting the FSX config.

It works  Grin


So if you tired of blurs, get editing now.

Heres's shot with MIP level setting 6, everything is now perfect, images load up fast, image is crisp, (set visibility to 10-20KM for best effect), this VFR product is so much better then the provious and if you didn't like the old one (like me) then give it try. It will also increase your frame rates as there no Autogen to display.



* vfr3.jpg (160.04 KB, 1024x708 - viewed 8350 times.)
« Last Edit: November 18, 2006, 07:18:58 PM by Gary Summons » Logged

Norman Dean
AFCAD Designer
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5858


« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2006, 07:17:33 PM »

Thanks Gary - nice one.

Norman
Logged


Gareth Smart

Offline Offline

Posts: 3199


Take offs are optional. Landings are mandatory.


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2006, 08:28:23 PM »

Thanks for that Gary, But for those of us who arent very confident in editing the CFG, how and where can we do this?

Thanks in advance

Gareth
Logged


When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.
Leanardo da Vinci
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7189


« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2006, 09:14:30 PM »

Find your FSX.cfg file mine is at:

C:\Documents and Settings\Gary\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX\fsx.cfg

Then edit that file.

Find your Display section (not the main one the local graphics card section) This is mine below:

[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT.0]
Mode=1024x768x32



Add the line MipBias=6, so it looks like this:
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT.0]
MipBias=6
Mode=1024x768x32


Also add MipBias=6 to the main DISPLAY section

Save it and away you go.


« Last Edit: September 17, 2008, 08:00:29 AM by Gary Summons » Logged

mulletman
Guest
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2006, 12:41:47 PM »

Thanks for that. Im placing my order for this one later today or tomorrow (i wanted to wait a bit) but have set this one up already.

From screenshots the VFR looks amazing.
Logged
Norman Dean
AFCAD Designer
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5858


« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2006, 02:31:21 PM »

Fred, just a warning, it took me 18 hours to load!!! The main problem is that the loader is rubbish.

Best advice I can give you is when it asks for the next disk before inderting it hold down the shift key, click try again or continue for all the screens that pop up (never cancel or ignore) and keep that shift key held down until the next batch of files start loading. At the end of each volume it requests disk one again. Do as a above and keep the shift key held down until the finish screen comes up.

Watch out with volume three. It askes for disks one, two, one, two, three and one in that order.

By the way, if you want to see the 3D demo it is in the wrong folder. Copy the files in the demo scenery folder to that in Vol 3 area one 2.4M photo. The copy and paste the demo texture folder to that same folder as the scenery files.

Norman
Logged


Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7189


« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2006, 03:19:30 PM »

Only took me just 20 mins per disk, but I also got the confussing Volume 3 problems.
Logged

Andrew letchford
Guest
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2006, 06:22:08 PM »

For some reason my install went without a hitch...slowish but then I went off to do something else while it was doing its stuff.  The request for disk one at the end of each volume install was straightforward and I think the readme or some such covered it.
Logged
Gareth Smart

Offline Offline

Posts: 3199


Take offs are optional. Landings are mandatory.


WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2006, 11:24:02 PM »

Thanks for that Gary that has really helped with the MIP settings in FSX

Regards

Gareth
Logged


When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.
Leanardo da Vinci
jonathan miller
Guest
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2007, 08:27:08 PM »

Hi i have GeForce 7250 GX2 graphics card would the same principle apply?
Logged
Gareth Smart

Offline Offline

Posts: 3199


Take offs are optional. Landings are mandatory.


WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2007, 10:01:47 PM »

Yes it would. Where Gary's graphic card details are on his cfg, on yours it would read yours

regards

Gareth
Logged


When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.
Leanardo da Vinci
Gareth Smart

Offline Offline

Posts: 3199


Take offs are optional. Landings are mandatory.


WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2007, 10:03:01 AM »

Anyone know where we can find the cfg in Vista?

Thanks in advance

Regards

Gareth
Logged


When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.
Leanardo da Vinci
Gareth Smart

Offline Offline

Posts: 3199


Take offs are optional. Landings are mandatory.


WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2007, 10:10:43 AM »

Its ok all ive found it now!

it was in a really bizzare location:

C:\Users\Gareth Smart\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX

So if anyone else cant find it, its there!


Regards

Gareth
Logged


When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.
Leanardo da Vinci
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7189


« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2007, 11:16:54 AM »

Crazy!, why do Microsoft change names so often, makes no sence.
Logged

Gareth Smart

Offline Offline

Posts: 3199


Take offs are optional. Landings are mandatory.


WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2007, 11:53:59 AM »

Is it to try and keep us on our toes? Or just to piddle us off?

Or is it because they do it on purpose so as us peeps can't interfear (not sure if thats how 'interfear' is spelt Huh Undecided) with the settings in there as we are tredding out of ou depth?

Anyone know why this is?

Regards

Gareth
Logged


When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.
Leanardo da Vinci
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.163 seconds with 17 queries.