UK2000 Scenery Forum
February 24, 2018, 02:02:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sim freezing for 2-3 seconds when near VFR airfield  (Read 15186 times)
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9458


« Reply #75 on: March 14, 2017, 09:38:25 AM »

I have no idea why the windsock would do this for some users, The windsock is certainly one of most awkward pieces of FS coding, as it has to access old FS2002 wind speed and direction variables, it could be that this access in proximity to another windsock doing the same thing is causing an interaction feedback loop, that then causes a pause until the sim gives up.

This is all guess work, but this is only way I have of making a active windsock,  so it's case of living without the active windsock if it causes an issue for some users.

Logged

Stuart Furley

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #76 on: March 19, 2017, 12:16:24 PM »

Hi Gary

Thank you so much for putting the windsocks into separate files, this makes it so much better for me. I can use the windsocks at the airfields where I need them and turn them off elsewhere.

Could I be cheeky and ask you to do the same for the volume 1 airfields too please? I see volume 3 already has this feature and in fact turns off the windsocks when you disable the airfield in the options menu.

This has really solved the problem for me as I can just activate the airfields I want to use for each session.

Cheers
Stu
Logged
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9458


« Reply #77 on: March 20, 2017, 08:49:42 AM »

Yes I will do, but it takes a long time to split, I'll upload within 2 weeks
Logged

Stuart Furley

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #78 on: March 20, 2017, 01:47:56 PM »

Great news Gary, thanks very much for this.
Logged
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9458


« Reply #79 on: March 29, 2017, 07:56:26 AM »

For those who want separate windsock files for VFR Airfields Volume1 version2, here is the ZIP file.

Copy BGLs into the products scenery folder AND make sure you REMOVE "VFR_airfield1_v2_sockradars.BGL" from the scenery folder.

* VFR_airfield1_Windsocks.zip (25.18 KB - downloaded 39 times.)
Logged

Stuart Furley

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #80 on: March 29, 2017, 05:31:39 PM »

Hi Gary

Thank you so much for this, I appreciate all your hard work.  Smiley

Cheers
Stu
Logged
Cris Marinelli

Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #81 on: September 08, 2017, 05:35:20 PM »

As an update to the original post:-
I'm not seeing the issue with P3D v4 with the same ORBX and UK2000 scenery installed.
 Smiley
Logged
Gary Summons
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9458


« Reply #82 on: September 10, 2017, 08:26:16 AM »

Windsocks were removed in P3Dv4, as they crash the sim
Logged

Simon Doyle

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #83 on: January 21, 2018, 11:24:13 PM »

Hi All

I went away for a while.  Despite my earlier affirmation that the windsock issue worked, in reality it didn't and I binned UK2000 on fsx.   Since then I have upgraded to p3d 4.1 on a new computer with 1080ti and 8400k@4.5g.  Happily running p3d with no problems at all, when I though I would take another look at uk2000 to see if this problem was resolved.  I've downloaded the new uk2000 installers and decided to do a test flight from egbj to egva via egbp.  6 second pause after leaving Gloucester, approx 4 miles before Fairford another 6 second pause.  I cannot stress enough that this is a new machine, new software, new everything.  Same old problem though. 

At least uninstalling from p3d v4 is easier!

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Si
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.104 seconds with 17 queries.